Scholarships for Future Leaders

The Cause

Scholarships for Young Leaders!

The Father Whelihan Memorial Scholarship (FWMS) was created by former students of St. Mary's High School to honour Father James Whelihan, and outstanding educator and civics athletic leader in Calgary. By the terms of the original Trust Agreement, the awards were intended for two male students, one from each of the Calgary Board of Education and Calgary Catholic School Districts. Over the years, the Scholarship Committee recognized there was no equivalent award for young women in the city. In response to this gap, and in keeping with Fr. Whelihans philosophy of providing opportunities for all young people, the Scholarship Committee raised funds to enable the award of two scholarships to outstanding female students beginning in 2016. We now look to raise funds to grow the value of the awards to keep pace with the rising costs of post secondary education. Field Law's support would provide the assistance required to grow the award.

Scholarship Background. The FWMS is celebrating over 40 years of awarding post secondary scholarships for deserving Calgary high school students. The Scholarship was created and named in honour of Fr. James Whelihan (1902-1986) who was a legendary educator and athletics leader who taught at St. Mary High School from the 1930's to the late 1960's. Fr. Whelihan helped to create the Calgary Senior High School Athletics Association and as an educator, coach and mentor, had a profound influence on thousands of young people across the city of Calgary. At present, the awards are $2000 each, and the criteria for nomination and selection are academic and athletic achievement, leadership, good citizenship/community involvement and financial need. Any investment in the Scholarship will recognize and support the best of young people in our community.

Who Will it Benefit?

The FWMS solicits nominations of outstanding students from all high schools from each of the Calgary Board of Education and Calgary Catholic School districts. There will be two young women and two young men who receive the scholarship each year. Given that each applicant is actually nominated by their school to be their representative, it is considered an honour to be nominated given the criteria and reputation of the Scholarship, and Fr. Whelihan.